CPFC BBS

CPFC BBS (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/index.php)
-   Memory Lane (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   1989-90 Full backs - question (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=282957)

stevek 23-11-2020 02:39 PM

1989-90 Full backs - question

Ok, this one is a bit niche, but it's one of those cases where I seem to have a gap in my memory (I'll blame it on the fact that I missed a lot of games that season as I was a student in Leeds).

Our first choice full backs at the start of the season were (I think) John Pemberton (right) and Mark Dennis (left). But Dennis didn't last long before getting injured, and Richard Shaw emerged.

My memory is of Pembo at right back and Shaw at left back (as for the FA Cup semi and final) but watching you tube videos from that season, it seems they often played on the opposite sides. Is that right? And when did they switch - was it for the Cup semi (when in fact Salako played almost as a left wing back at times) or was it before then?

Either way, it makes me feel better about shoe-horning Shaw in at right back for our best ever 11 wedding reception table plan back in 2009...

Bipe 23-11-2020 04:11 PM

Dennis might have been signed as the prospective first choice but he was injured at the start of the season and only came into the team mid-autumn, only to get injured again a few games later and not play again that season. So he can effectively be discounted.

Pembo definitely played left back at home to Millwall in the first half of that season, and my memory tells me that he played on that side a fair bit either side of the Dennis appearances. In the latter half of the season Shaw played on the left and Pembo switched back to the right.

But I might be talking rubbish as usual.

ian king 23-11-2020 06:49 PM

John Pemberton only missed 5 complete games all season at right-back. At Leicester in League cup he came on as substitute for Richard Shaw.