CPFC BBS

CPFC BBS (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/index.php)
-   Computers, Gaming and Mobile Forum (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   iphone users (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163583)

Dave 14-08-2008 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
Can't get it to download at all it crashes all the time.. at least now I know I am cursed.

I just don't know what to do. :sob:


Turn off all nasty things like utorrent.

Upgrade itunes

Try again

Ridcully 14-08-2008 10:45 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
The crashing or the 3G?

Example 3G post

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/08...e_not_very_3g/

there are many on the internet. A lot of conspiracy theories about how the 3G handsets got certified for europe

I see Apple have responded and will be fixed in a software update soon. Not had a problem with 3G tbh, often can get a signal and can't say I have noticed it swapping more than my previous 3G phones did (T-Mobile and 3)

klimskady 14-08-2008 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Turn off all nasty things like utorrent.

Upgrade itunes

Try again

Utorrent has been off since it started playing up a few days a go, I have the most recent Itunes as I only got in to Tuesday.

But looking at the diagnostics on my router its saying PPP Server Down

So I am guessing this could be Sky's fault again?

Sky has been terrible in this house, after a faultless year and a half in my old property

Ridcully 14-08-2008 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
Can't get it to download at all it crashes all the time.. at least now I know I am cursed.

I just don't know what to do. :sob:

I have it on my mac, its called iPhone1,2_2.0.1_5B108_Restore.ipsw and is 250Mb big. I assume it will be the same on a PC but not sure where iTunes puts the files for you to sync. You can also find it here Hope that helps...

klimskady 14-08-2008 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Ridcully
I have it on my mac, its called iPhone1,2_2.0.1_5B108_Restore.ipsw and is 250Mb big. I assume it will be the same on a PC but not sure where iTunes puts the files for you to sync. You can also find it here Hope that helps...
Thanks for that mate. x

klimskady 15-08-2008 01:28 AM

Still not having much luck, I phoned sky and they denied it being their end with the problem.

This is my first post on the iphone and even though it is a bit odd to get used to I love it!

Men At Work 15-08-2008 04:24 AM

For those wanting to use the iPhone to stream their music: http://forums.mactalk.com.au/56/5595...ur-iphone.html

Dave 15-08-2008 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
Still not having much luck, I phoned sky and they denied it being their end with the problem.

This is my first post on the iphone and even though it is a bit odd to get used to I love it!

If you are able to post on the internet then it isn't likely to be Sky

Dave 15-08-2008 10:34 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Ridcully
I see Apple have responded and will be fixed in a software update soon.
I haven't seen that. I have seen a couple of people report that is how they think it will be fixed...

Lion 15-08-2008 10:51 AM

Got my 3g iphone yesterday. I like it a lot.

Debating jailbreaking it - has anyone done this, is it worth it?

Dave 15-08-2008 10:53 AM

I'm *probably* going to jailbreak.

Lion 15-08-2008 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
I'm *probably* going to jailbreak.
That's pretty much where I'm at too. It seems easy enough, and it was a piece of piss on my touch when I had one, but it's so new I really don't want to break it :)

Dave 15-08-2008 11:10 AM

I jailbroke my first generation - it was pretty easy

Ridcully 15-08-2008 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
I haven't seen that. I have seen a couple of people report that is how they think it will be fixed...
Hmmm says they have responded in this article but when you dig into the source its speculative and actually contains a denial from Apple. Bloody journalists, facts are becoming as bad as the BBS to come by ;)

Ridcully 15-08-2008 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
If you are able to post on the internet then it isn't likely to be Sky
Easynet have been running line tests on the Sky Network for months, in some cases it has recalibrated lines that were originally near ADSL Max back down to less than 256k down. Its all over the ADSL forums and in most instances the first level support techs don't know a thing about it but if you can get to the second level guys they just offer a quick reset and bingo you're OK again. Great customer service eh!

Dave 15-08-2008 12:03 PM

Um - 256K down would still download the firmware innit

GodstoneEagle 15-08-2008 01:34 PM

any news on the return of 'tether'?


And dave why would you want to jailbreak?

Dave 15-08-2008 01:36 PM

run applications in the background - feel the need to be able to scrobble even more!

Isn't your jailbroken already? In that case you can tether already

Ridcully 15-08-2008 01:48 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Um - 256K down would still download the firmware innit
yeah but it would explain the 5 hour thingy...as for the crashes who knows what else goes on on the Klims PC whilst she is waiting for the download!

Her network connection has a history of reliability problems also.

klimskady 15-08-2008 02:00 PM

Ok then, I have now got the 2.0.1 install file that you linked to Ridcully, but when I click on it it loads itunes and then wants me to download the other one that doesn't work for me, does anyone know of a way of getting this to work?

This is turning into a bit of a farce.

Ridcully 15-08-2008 02:22 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
Ok then, I have now got the 2.0.1 install file that you linked to Ridcully, but when I click on it it loads itunes and then wants me to download the other one that doesn't work for me, does anyone know of a way of getting this to work?

This is turning into a bit of a farce.

Try placing it in the directory that iTunes uses to store these downloads, I'm not sure where that is on a PC so hopefully one of the kind PC users on here will be able to guide you to it.

Failing that, are you near an Apple store?

Dave 15-08-2008 02:23 PM

aren't 02 support calls free?

Ridcully 15-08-2008 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
aren't 02 support calls free?
dont be so grouchy ubermeister

KingsleY 15-08-2008 02:25 PM

Go to restore iphone, then press and hold shift while you press restore.
You will then be able to choose the firmware file

klimskady 15-08-2008 02:27 PM

Not near an Apple store but I will look for the directory, o2 support not being all that useful at the moment, they say its something Apple will need to sort out rather than them.

Ridcully 15-08-2008 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by KingsleY
Go to restore iphone, then press and hold shift while you press restore.
You will then be able to choose the firmware file

If this works, top tip Kingsley

Dave 15-08-2008 02:49 PM

Isn't this what she was already doing? How else would she use your file :)

klimskady 15-08-2008 02:58 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by KingsleY
Go to restore iphone, then press and hold shift while you press restore.
You will then be able to choose the firmware file

You are a star!

It worked brilliantly.

GodstoneEagle 15-08-2008 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
run applications in the background - feel the need to be able to scrobble even more!

Isn't your jailbroken already? In that case you can tether already

no I don't wanna risk bricking something I spent so much on.

I think the cons outweigh the pros of jailbreak if you are on o2

GodstoneEagle 15-08-2008 04:17 PM

but I would like tether

Lion 15-08-2008 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GodstoneEagle
no I don't wanna risk bricking something I spent so much on.

I think the cons outweigh the pros of jailbreak if you are on o2

Don't think they are likely to be bricked, all i've read is that on o2 3g iphones they signal goes shit when you jailbreak it via Windows (should be OK via a Mac..) but you can always restore to your original firmware.

I'm going to wait for a month or two before doing it I think.

Dave 15-08-2008 04:46 PM

How would the machine used to break it impact the 3G signal? How would that work?

KingsleY 15-08-2008 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
You are a star!

It worked brilliantly.

Awesome : )


And godders..it is near on impossible to brick an iphone, there is nearly always a way back.

Swanny32 15-08-2008 06:17 PM

Alex, Ed just picked himself up a new iPhone today, any apps you would recommend he downloads?

KingsleY 15-08-2008 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Swanny32
Alex, Ed just picked himself up a new iPhone today, any apps you would recommend he downloads?
1) Remote
2) Facebook (if he uses it)
3) Last.fm
4) Shazam
5) Monkey ball if he is likely to play it
6) Mocha VNC lite (if he has any interest in controlling his PC from his phone)
7)iPint..coz its cool to show off!

Swanny32 15-08-2008 06:43 PM

Cheers dude, im seeing him tomorrow so we'll get on to it then!

Ridcully 15-08-2008 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by KingsleY
1) Remote
2) Facebook (if he uses it)
3) Last.fm
4) Shazam
5) Monkey ball if he is likely to play it
6) Mocha VNC lite (if he has any interest in controlling his PC from his phone)
7)iPint..coz its cool to show off!

With the exception of Monkeyball my app list entirely

+ Google Reader but thats a web app so doesn't count

eddieskyclad 15-08-2008 08:23 PM

I bought the 16gb version this morning... bit of an impulse purchase really and I'm not wholly sure what I've let myself in for.

Should be interesting though :p

KingsleY 15-08-2008 08:50 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Ridcully
With the exception of Monkeyball my app list entirely

+ Google Reader but thats a web app so doesn't count

Have UK Trains as a web app which ix extremely useful..and iplayer :D

Brett 16-08-2008 10:59 AM

Geotagging has stopped on Mk 1. :confused:

(and 3G by the looks of things)

Dave 16-08-2008 12:51 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Brett
Geotagging has stopped on Mk 1. :confused:

(and 3G by the looks of things)

I can geotag stuff - what specifically do you mean?

Brett 16-08-2008 02:40 PM

Photos - it's not writing location details to the EXIF.

What stuff are you geotagging, and how?

Dave 16-08-2008 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Brett
Photos - it's not writing location details to the EXIF.

What stuff are you geotagging, and how?

Photos to Flickr using airme

klimskady 17-08-2008 02:39 PM

In a nutshell, could anyone tell me any possible downsides to jailbreaking a 3g Iphone?

Dave 18-08-2008 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
In a nutshell, could anyone tell me any possible downsides to jailbreaking a 3g Iphone?
why do you want to jailbreak would be a better position to start with.

GodstoneEagle 18-08-2008 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by KingsleY
1) Remote
2) Facebook (if he uses it)
3) Last.fm
4) Shazam
5) Monkey ball if he is likely to play it
6) Mocha VNC lite (if he has any interest in controlling his PC from his phone)
7)iPint..coz its cool to show off!

couple of games on top of this as well

sheriff 18-08-2008 07:05 PM

any one got any further instruction on how to use vnc?

Dave 18-08-2008 07:10 PM

what other than connect to computer?

Tomo 18-08-2008 07:14 PM

My iphone has been losing its charge quite quickly and getting very hot. Any ideas why?

eddieskyclad 18-08-2008 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Tomo
My iphone has been losing its charge quite quickly and getting very hot. Any ideas why?
Have you put it in a microwave?

sheriff 18-08-2008 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
what other than connect to computer?
I keep getting "host has closed the session"

I have googled it but no solution. Dunno what else to try! Any advice appreciated.

Dave 18-08-2008 09:39 PM

Do you have vnc installed on your computer?

Is the username and password correct?

Is your firewall open to allow vnc to connect?

sheriff 18-08-2008 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Do you have vnc installed on your computer?

Is the username and password correct?

Is your firewall open to allow vnc to connect?

got ultravnc on the PC (vista)

Password def. Username?

Firewall. believe so, will jus double check (yes windows firewall has open)

Dave 18-08-2008 10:43 PM

Can you connect using another vnc client?

the only vnc client/server I am familiar with for windows is tightvnc but I can't see a port for vista.

sheriff 18-08-2008 10:48 PM

Sorry to be slow, and I dont mean to be annoying but what would that mean? i was originally trying to connect on the 192.168 ip. I am right to think that I actually need the ip address from "http://whatismyipaddress.com/"?

sheriff 18-08-2008 10:59 PM

tight VNC is working!!! Wow how cool!

Dave 18-08-2008 11:00 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by sheriff
tight VNC is working!!! Wow how cool!
You are using tightvnc as your server?

sheriff 18-08-2008 11:30 PM

yh instead of ultra vnc. Just not sure if it will work when I leave my house

Dave 18-08-2008 11:31 PM

you will need to open the ports on your router

sheriff 18-08-2008 11:35 PM

think i have done that. told it to allow inbound. THE UDP/TCP stuff?

Thanks Dave!

Dave 19-08-2008 10:26 AM

Kewl!

Anyone got any suggestions on headphones gang?

I bought some noise canceling Sony headphones and the sound is sweet however when I have noise canceling enabled I get interface from the phone trying to get a signal - you know the way mobiles used to when placed beside computers.

Ideally I like multifunction headphones (pause/next track), a volume control and noise reduction that doesn't buzz when the phone is getting a signal.

Anyone got headphone nirvana?

Stavros 69 19-08-2008 10:56 AM

Dave,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-C...9135038&sr=8-7

These are preety good on the cheap, i think i have 3 pairs and they have always done me proud, no volume remote though.

Dave 19-08-2008 12:16 PM

New update 2.02 is out

Swanny32 19-08-2008 12:22 PM

what does the update do then?

Dave 19-08-2008 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Swanny32
what does the update do then?
free gee enhancements and some keyboard speedups

Pidster 19-08-2008 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
free gee enhancements
That should amuse some of our Irish readers.

eddieskyclad 19-08-2008 11:39 PM

Is it just me or is this update taking forever?

Dave 19-08-2008 11:49 PM

Mine flew through again

Smoz 20-08-2008 02:08 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Kewl!

Anyone got any suggestions on headphones gang?

I bought some noise canceling Sony headphones and the sound is sweet however when I have noise canceling enabled I get interface from the phone trying to get a signal - you know the way mobiles used to when placed beside computers.

Ideally I like multifunction headphones (pause/next track), a volume control and noise reduction that doesn't buzz when the phone is getting a signal.

Anyone got headphone nirvana?

According to Amazon Sennheiser PX-C300 have 'Advanced Circuit Technology (ACT): reduced susceptibility to mobile phone interference due to optimized circuit technology'

Sennheiser PXC300

I had the PXC250s which had the noise cancellation but no ACT, they sounded great but were susceptible to mobile interference.

sheriff 20-08-2008 08:29 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Stavros 69
Dave,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-C...9135038&sr=8-7

I have them and they are VERY good. I do like the standard ones though! especilly with the mic/button.

anoneagle 21-08-2008 05:50 PM

Has anyone else got the ifooty app yet? Looking really good so far.

klimskady 21-08-2008 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by anoneagle
Has anyone else got the ifooty app yet? Looking really good so far.
Yeah I have got that, doesn't look bad at all.

I also have Last.fm, Vicinity and ereader as well as most of the ones mentioned earlier in the thread.

Brett 21-08-2008 06:00 PM

iFooty is sitting in iTunes waiting to be installed. Does it provide live scores?

James Melody 21-08-2008 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
tree gee enhancements
EFP(idster)

sheriff 21-08-2008 09:40 PM

iFooty is cool.

BUT LADIES AND GENTLEMAN...

Please go and get simplifymedia!

It is free to the 1st 100000 dloaders and is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen! (well... heard!)

Swanny32 21-08-2008 10:20 PM

Can anyone tell me how i know if my iPhone is activated or not, im still getting calls on my old phone with my old sim card

Dave 21-08-2008 10:22 PM

activated is not the same as transferring your number

Swanny32 21-08-2008 10:29 PM

how long does it take to transfer a number?

Dave 21-08-2008 10:43 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Swanny32
how long does it take to transfer a number?
Depends - they would have given you a date when you gave them a PAC code. You did give 02 a PAC code?

If the date is today turn both phones off for one hour.

Swanny32 22-08-2008 12:57 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Depends - they would have given you a date when you gave them a PAC code. You did give 02 a PAC code?

If the date is today turn both phones off for one hour.

It was a straight upgrade so surely they wouldnt need a PAC code? The guy instore did everything for me and said it would be the same number

Swanny32 22-08-2008 12:59 AM

and he gave me a new sim card

Dave 22-08-2008 01:00 AM

new sim card = new number surely

Swanny32 22-08-2008 09:33 AM

the pratat the o2 store for some reason just gave me a sim card, it wasn't activated so the woman at o2 online told me to keep hold of it then i have a replacement if i ever need one. The situation has been resolved by putting in my old sim card as apparently that was already a 3g sim card.

Dave 22-08-2008 12:13 PM

White Iphones coming to the Uk next week...

Swanny32 22-08-2008 10:12 PM

Damn it, i wanted to get the white one

Got a problem already which im not having much luck with, the phone doesn't seem to be responding, its on, goes to sleep mode then when i want to use it the screen stays blank, if i then plug it in to the pc it comes to life and im able to use it but as soon as it goes to sleep mode im unable to unlock it......any ideas?

klimskady 23-08-2008 02:25 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
White Iphones coming to the Uk next week...
Crawley o2 has them in stock now. I actually saw one in the flesh, although I wasn't all that impressed.

GodstoneEagle 23-08-2008 05:41 AM

swanny. Mine has done that twuicd beforevv


Hold menu axnf lock buttons tohstgrt to sift reset. Should foxevetythib

RDSdaEAGLE 23-08-2008 06:40 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by klimskady
Crawley o2 has them in stock now. I actually saw one in the flesh, although I wasn't all that impressed.
They're iphones, with white backs and more memory. Nothing else :D

Men At Work 23-08-2008 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by GodstoneEagle
swanny. Mine has done that twuicd beforevv


Hold menu axnf lock buttons tohstgrt to sift reset. Should foxevetythib

I guess the iPhone predictive text still has a few bugs.

Swanny32 23-08-2008 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by RDSdaEAGLE
They're iphones, with white backs and more memory. Nothing else :D
How much more memory?

Dave 23-08-2008 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by RDSdaEAGLE
They're iphones, with white backs and more memory. Nothing else :D
same memory afaik

klimskady 23-08-2008 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
same memory afaik
Yeah I can confirm that it is the same memory.

RDSdaEAGLE 23-08-2008 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
same memory afaik
Oh right, I thought the white model was only available with 16gig, whereas the black model with 8gig?

Johnson 23-08-2008 10:20 PM

black model is 8 or 16 gig.

Swanny32 23-08-2008 11:02 PM

anyone know the o2 SMTP outgoing server?

Dave 24-08-2008 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by RDSdaEAGLE
Oh right, I thought the white model was only available with 16gig, whereas the black model with 8gig?
Nope

Swanny32 24-08-2008 11:40 AM

o2 SMTP server anyone?

James 24-08-2008 02:15 PM

My contract with T Mobile expires in October and I am thinking of getting an iphone. My main concern is network coverage. Is the O2 coverage good outside London? I don't suppose anyone has had experience of using one in the Cranleigh area?

Is this still the best option - or should I be looking elsewhere?

Swanny32 24-08-2008 04:15 PM

I'm in colchester and the coverage is great

Dave 24-08-2008 06:10 PM

Coverage good in Richmond


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.