CPFC BBS

CPFC BBS (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/index.php)
-   Computers, Gaming and Mobile Forum (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   iphone users (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163583)

Blind_Eagle 24-07-2008 01:29 PM

Could someone who owns a 3G version of the iPhone do me a favour and check whether both speakers at the bottom of the phone actually operate when music is being played?

Only one of mine actually produces any sound and I just want to check whether this is standard or not.

Thanks in advance. :)

AndyStreet 24-07-2008 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Blind_Eagle
Could someone who owns a 3G version of the iPhone do me a favour and check whether both speakers at the bottom of the phone actually operate when music is being played?

Only one of mine actually produces any sound and I just want to check whether this is standard or not.

Thanks in advance. :)

This is standard. One of them is the mic and one is the speaker.

Ridcully 24-07-2008 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by AndyStreet
This is standard. One of them is the mic and one is the speaker.
Yep, I found this out yesterday when it was all muffled as I had my hand over the speaker.

Blind_Eagle 24-07-2008 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by AndyStreet
This is standard. One of them is the mic and one is the speaker.
Thank you. :)

AndyStreet 24-07-2008 03:49 PM

You're welcome. :)

Dave 24-07-2008 05:51 PM

Shoreditch / Pete - ignore everything I said before about exchange and the iphone - I have just been shown how to set up the Iphone for exchange.

So easy, so kewl.

AndyStreet 24-07-2008 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Shoreditch / Pete - ignore everything I said before about exchange and the iphone - I have just been shown how to set up the Iphone for exchange.

So easy, so kewl.

How does one do this please Dave?

Dave 24-07-2008 06:16 PM

Ok - so - first - you need to have access to Outlookweb access or know the url for web based email

Then go to exchange and add the account with that as the server name and Domain\username as your username

Adding the account will fail but save anyways.

Then go back into email and you should now see your new account - go to inbox and it will try and connect.

then you will get a message saying that you need to set a passcode.

Follow the instructions and set a passcode, then go to your inbox and enter your passcode and your mail should download.

The downside is that you need to enter the passcode everytime you access the iphone

gingerob 24-07-2008 06:19 PM

Can you cut and paste with the 3G version?

AndyStreet 24-07-2008 06:24 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Ok - so - first - you need to have access to Outlookweb access or know the url for web based email

Then go to exchange and add the account with that as the server name and Domain\username as your username

Adding the account will fail but save anyways.

Then go back into email and you should now see your new account - go to inbox and it will try and connect.

then you will get a message saying that you need to set a passcode.

Follow the instructions and set a passcode, then go to your inbox and enter your passcode and your mail should download.

The downside is that you need to enter the passcode everytime you access the iphone

Cheers mate. I can't access Web-based mail unless connected to our network which seems a bit ludicrous but never mind. Ta.

Dave 24-07-2008 06:25 PM

Yup - that is the caveat :(

Dave 24-07-2008 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by gingerob
Can you cut and paste with the 3G version?
NO!

Shoreditch CPFC 24-07-2008 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
Shoreditch / Pete - ignore everything I said before about exchange and the iphone - I have just been shown how to set up the Iphone for exchange.

So easy, so kewl.

Thanks.

Just when I'd decided to keep the blackberry and get a 32gig touch, I'm confused again.

I have a remote gizmo I press to get a code when I want to access my pc remotely and apparently I also need this to access my outlook account on the web. If I set it up is the number I get from the gizmo what I need to enter each time I want access? If I keep my phone on all day would I just need to do this once a day?

KingsleY 24-07-2008 08:35 PM

you shouldn't need to enter it each time, but if yiuvwabt me too test it on my iPhone then I'm happy to do so.

Shoreditch CPFC 24-07-2008 10:34 PM

Thanks. It's a work specific bit of kit though which allows me to access our network, so I'm not sure I can...

Stavros 69 24-07-2008 11:14 PM

Can you open word docs and pdf's on the 3g one ?

Thanks

KingsleY 24-07-2008 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Shoreditch CPFC
Thanks. It's a work specific bit of kit though which allows me to access our network, so I'm not sure I can...
Thats fine..
The offers there if you need it though

KingsleY 24-07-2008 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Stavros 69
Can you open word docs and pdf's on the 3g one ?

Thanks

Yes, and the 2G one

Stavros 69 25-07-2008 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by KingsleY
Yes, and the 2G one
Thanks, will prob get one on my return.

lukethomas_01 25-07-2008 12:58 AM

ive had a 2g phone for ages and just upgraded the firmware using a cheeky hack. Love all the new applications and am now constantly annoying my office with the light sabre application and drinking from i-pint. Genius...


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.