CPFC BBS

CPFC BBS (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/index.php)
-   Computers, Gaming and Mobile Forum (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   iphone users (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163583)

GodstoneEagle 18-07-2008 03:52 PM

I tried to get on the internet whilst out last night in Croydon, just said that it couldn't connect to wifi :confused:

It does have GPRS internet surely?

Dave 18-07-2008 04:08 PM

Yes it does

GodstoneEagle 18-07-2008 04:10 PM

and it should just work by pressing safari no?

Dave 18-07-2008 04:12 PM

correct - you might want to stop wifi and check

make sure you have an E at the top of the phone - where the wireless symbol is normally

Ridcully 18-07-2008 04:13 PM

yep. you sure you had a signal?

Ridcully 18-07-2008 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
correct - you might want to stop wifi and check

make sure you have an E at the top of the phone - where the wireless symbol is normally

That's only if u have an edge signal. A square box with a dot in it denotes GPRS and it should work on that too.

GodstoneEagle 18-07-2008 04:27 PM

what is EDGE? is it software?

Blind_Eagle 18-07-2008 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Blind_Eagle
I then tried it where there was only a weak 3G signal and this threw up an issue. Eventually it lost the 3G signal and it certainly isn't the seamless transfer promised. The iPhone reports back that it has lost the server and you then have to reload the page via Edge. If it then senses a 3G signal it tries that, finds that the signal is insufficient and so once agiain tells you that it has lost the server, so you have to re-load the page via Edge.
Just got back from lunch which gave me the chance to give it another go from a different location. Similar problem worse outcome. Limited 3G signal plus an encrypted wifi signal in the hotel plus of course GPRS. It failed completely to connect via any of them.

Beginning to get a tad pissed off to be honest. Bloke with 2G version was able to connect via Edge with no problem. :(

Also noticed that a fully charged phone when I left at 12ish is now down to about a quarter charge for one phone call and a dozen failed attempts to log onto the web.

I want my 2G back. :eek:

Dave 18-07-2008 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GodstoneEagle
what is EDGE? is it software?
Faster GPRS

Dave 18-07-2008 05:02 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Blind_Eagle
Just got back from lunch which gave me the chance to give it another go from a different location. Similar problem worse outcome. Limited 3G signal plus an encrypted wifi signal in the hotel plus of course GPRS. It failed completely to connect via any of them.

Beginning to get a tad pissed off to be honest. Bloke with 2G version was able to connect via Edge with no problem. :(

Also noticed that a fully charged phone when I left at 12ish is now down to about a quarter charge for one phone call and a dozen failed attempts to log onto the web.

I want my 2G back. :eek:

You have officially got me a little worried

Blind_Eagle 18-07-2008 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave
You have officially got me a little worried
Not my intention Dave. I wanted to love and cherish this puppy just like my last one but it aint happening. :(

GodstoneEagle 18-07-2008 05:22 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Blind_Eagle
Just got back from lunch which gave me the chance to give it another go from a different location. Similar problem worse outcome. Limited 3G signal plus an encrypted wifi signal in the hotel plus of course GPRS. It failed completely to connect via any of them.

Beginning to get a tad pissed off to be honest. Bloke with 2G version was able to connect via Edge with no problem. :(

Also noticed that a fully charged phone when I left at 12ish is now down to about a quarter charge for one phone call and a dozen failed attempts to log onto the web.

I want my 2G back. :eek:

swap if you like?


feeling a little guilty

Blind_Eagle 18-07-2008 05:48 PM

Anyone want a spare mains charger and a car charger for the 2G seeing as I can confirm the previous poster who stated they don't work with the 3G version? :grrr:

The 3G version even tells you that it wont charge when you plug it in.

Brett 18-07-2008 06:57 PM

Two issues here. The o2 3G coverage is pump, as I had warned.

Secondly, the 3G iPhone doesn't look a great jump in technology and the charging issue is a little despicable. Add in that the 2.0 software looks battery hungry and so far, it seems prudent to stick with Mk 1 and miss a generation.

The 2.0 software is hammering my Mk 1 and I'm not even using any apps. I've gone from a charge every 3-4 days to a mandatory charge every night. WTF?

Dave 18-07-2008 08:17 PM

disable push

Brett 18-07-2008 08:31 PM

Done. If that works, you can touch me inappropriately. :)

Dave 18-07-2008 08:59 PM

I take it you disable wireless when on the move too?

Ridcully 19-07-2008 10:35 AM

push off but wireless enabled. I use the phone for about an hour of call time a day and some surf on and off all day and have to charge once a day max, so far no more than that. Yours sounds poor blind. Not noticed any problem connecting so far seemingly switching between wifi, GPRS, edge and 3g with no prob. Have had to force a conection only once in the first week.

Has crashed twice so far and the legacy peripherals thing sucks big time. Very pleased so far but I do come from a wm6 device so it's much better if the 3g from 2g thing makes it worse then I'd be pissed too.

Ridcully 19-07-2008 10:55 AM

Oh the irony. After the last post I experienced the same thing that happened to blind. Went into settings and carrier selection and found that it was continuously searching foe a carrier. Whilst it searched it would not get a data signal so I experimented a bit. I found 2 ways of getting the signal back. One to switch the phone off and them on again and the other to wait until the searching had completed fully (took about 2 mind). For some reason when searching the data connection failed. Don't know if that will help anyone but it worked for me. As I said before with a windoze phone you are used to and therefore more accepting of this crap. Generally I find if I leave the phone alone and let it do it's thing it is ok.

Ridcully 19-07-2008 11:01 AM

editing text is crap, hence all the mistakes! I also find the delete key jams on a lot.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.